I Thought He Was Honest Abe?

I grew up believing the “Honest Abe” also known as Abraham Lincoln, many believe to be one of the greatest presidents in history. I was searching for websites with free e-books I could read, as my TV is in use right now, and I stumbled across a website called PagebyPageBooks.com. I browsed through the list until I stumbled Abraham Lincoln. I clicked it and I came to First Inaugural Address and I could not help but stumble upon a quote from that address:

“I have no purpose, directly or indirectly, to interfere with the institution of slavery in the States where it exists. I believe I have no lawful right to do so, and I have no inclination to do so.” – Abraham Lincoln

WTF??

I thought he freed the slaves.

Leave a Reply

