Outlining My First Garden

Today, I started outlining my first vegetable garden. I measured out a space that was 14 feet in length and 6 feet wide. I’m planning on adding two raised beds this weekend with a foot path in between for working. I did take a photo of my first dig for sentimental sake. And I found a little frog that scared me to death when he hoped out of a batch of dried oak tree leaves. I screamed for my hubby to remove him but changed my mind.

Maybe he is meant to be a part of the eco-system in my new garden. I’m still deciding what to grow. I’m trying to think of things that we eat on a daily basis. (Wish we could grow Mac & Chz in the garden). I’m thinking lettuce, carrots, spinach, tomatoes, potatoes, onions, garlic are a good start this year. I really want to grow a lot of tomatoes. I’m hoping to make a lot of sauce (hopefully) this year and store it for lots of pasta and pizza this winter.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 thoughts on “Outlining My First Garden

  1. Sharon says:

    Yay for you for starting your first vegetable garden. That’s so exciting! The crops I’ve most loved having from the garden have been lettuce and tomatoes, so I think those are great choices. I would recommend planting varieties that you can’t find in the store or at the farmers’ market. It makes gardening all the more exciting! Good luck!

      • Sharon says:

        Well, my favorite is Southern Exposure Seed Exchange (www.southernexposure.com). They have a lot of organic and heirloom varieties that I’ve had good success with. They’re also local to me (in Virginia) and usually point out when a variety does particularly well in this region. I’ve also heard good things about Seeds of Change and Seed Savers Exchange. They have an almost overwhelming number of varieties!

Leave a Reply

