Preparation is key to work out success

So I started my official 2015 get my ass in shape work out schedule a week ago today. Although I have worked out every day all week for at least 45 minutes, I was not prepared! I was not prepared for the insane amount of food cravings I would have. I craved everything from fries to chocolate all week. And the worst part is-I didn’t prepare my fridge for success. When I went grocery shopping last week the only thing healthy I bought was stuff to make my green smoothies and I ran out of those supplies on Thursday!

I worked out really hard all week. My body ached. And instead of reaching for a yogurt cup or granola, I grabbed peanut butter M&M’s and cinnamon rolls from the pantry because that’s what I had. So this week I tried to stock the fridge with healthier foods to help me curve that bad habit I have of eating fatty sweets.

See, My major weakness is sugar. I don’t smoke. I don’t do drugs. I rarely drink alcohol. I don’t eat a lot of salty foods. But sugar. That is my major weakness. If I had a really bad day I can eat an entire box of Krispy Kreme doughnuts by myself. I once had a huge fight with a boyfriend when I was in college and I ate my entire birthday cake in one sitting. I’m very lucky that I don’t weigh 200lbs or have diabetes but if I don’t take my health seriously I will end up with some serious problems. That’s why I started my workout routine this week. To get my ass back in shape.

Here is what I added to my kitchen to help me get through the week a little bit healthier:

Yogurt- Stonyfield

Chia Seeds-Fresh Market

Fresh Bananas, Pineapple, Strawberries, Blueberries

Spinach

Lemons

Chicken Breasts-4 packages

OJ- I always use this as the base for my smoothies. Some people use others but this is what I like.

Coconut Water-I’m giving it a try

Granola- I picked a brand with 10g of protein

Brown Rice

This is not everything I will eat for the week but it’s a start to get some healthier items in my diet.

Leave a Reply

